How to browse PHP’s print_r output the right way

16 06 2010

I’ve had the pleasure recently of working with some complex object oriented PHP with massive objects or lists of objects. The easiest way to have a look at your data for analyzing and debugging is to print_r it. Unfortunately, skimming through this data can be tedious, especially if you want to skip a couple of large, nested objects that are irrelevant to your data analysis.

When programming, I always keep Notepad++ open so I can keep a bunch of data accesible in tabs, such as notes, texts, data files, etc (and my tabs of saved files are seamlessly preserved between sessions, which is critical, of course). Notepad++ can handle bunches of different file formats out of the box, but PHP print_r isn’t one of them.

So I’ve pasted my print_r output into Notepad++, and the new file language is “Normal Text”. Immediately, bracket matching/highlighting works, which is great. I can go to an opening parens and see where it ends. So that’s it, right? Well, Notepad++ can also do code folding, like when you’re browsing a class, and you want to see all the class functions without all that pesky function code cluttering your view. So if you’ve got a PHP file open, for example, you can either click the [-] ┬áto the left of the code to fold that function, or go to View->Fold All, and then just click [+] to open the class and see the top-level items in the class in plain view.

So what about the print_r? Matlab! I haven’t used Matlab since my first or second year in engineering school, and never thought it would useful, but here it is. I don’t remember what the code looks like, and I don’t care. All I know is that when I select Language->Matlab, it let’s me do code folding on my print_r output, and that’s all that matters. A bunch of the other languages work well too, or the same as Matlab, but it was the first and best for my needs.

FYI, this breaks if you have variable data containing a chunk of text with newlines and whatnot, but so it goes.

Actions

Information

3 responses

23 07 2010
Jonathan

Really useful, thanks! I eventually use Notepad++ and even though the arrays I currently play with ain’t that big, I’ll definitely use that one day.

13 09 2011
Krrish

Is Notepad++ loads up faster… I use Dreamweaver presently.

13 09 2011
israelwebdev

Notepad++ loads very fast, is lightweight, and can handle text files that are several megabytes large, something that other Text Document viewers can’t. (It handle search/replace well too)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers

